Kindness.

Standard

As I was driving yesterday, I noticed my breaks were starting to grind BAD, especially when I was going really slowly and close to a stop. Greg and I decided we had better get the car in today to get the breaks changed, since Greg doesn’t really have time to do it himself. After a crazy list of events, I decided to take it in after Desi’s 15 months check up {she is doing great, BTW}. I had text 5 or so friends to see if anyone could come and pick us up and take us home and then we would go back to pick it up when Greg got home.

After some confusion, we thought we would have a ride about 20 minutes after we got to the tire place. I had luckily prepared myself with some snacks, and lots of toys for the kids to play with, but I felt so overwhelmed with 2 kids in the waiting room with many people around. I continued to feel super inadequate to be doing this with so many surrounding us, but I just kept trying to do what I do.

A older woman and man looked at each other and starting talking quietly to each other and I suddenly got self conscious of what they were saying. Was I failing at my “job”? Were they dissatisfied with how I was dealing with my kids? Then suddenly the woman said, “You do very well balancing them. With two of them, you are doing a great job taking care of each of their needs. I know that mothering can be hard, but you are doing a great job.” The man said, “You can tell you love your kids, and I commend you for being so patient and loving!”

WHAT?!? Did I need to clear my ears out? Did they just say what I thought they said? What sweet people. Then before the older man left, he came to chat with me and said that there are so many other things I could have been doing, such as shoving a game in their face and how impressed he was that I had been reading to them and that they loved books.

I am so grateful for those 2 people today. They could have kept their comments to themselves. They could have judged me for what I did wrong, but instead they focused on what I was doing right.

Now, I don’t write this to boast about what a good mother I am. I know that I have my short comings, but I write it because I am pretty sure that every mother out there {at some point}, feels super inadequate in their mothering. Most of the time, I feel like I am failing at this ever-important job of raising my 2 kiddos. But, what I found today is that I am grateful for those who see that I am doing my best. For the most part, I like to give people the benefit of the doubt that they truly are trying their best to be a great mother, father, friend, child. I pray I can see the best in all those around me.

-M.

2 thoughts on “Kindness.

  1. Sue

    You are amazing! Your children are such a blessing to us! I’m so grateful for you And greg sharing your family with us! Be proud mama! You rock!šŸ‘

Leave a Reply

