Lesson learned.

Standard

OK, OK.  I KNOW I am a slacker and I apologize!  I promise I will update SOON!  This is one of my goals on a WEEKLY BASIS now, so hold me to it!  I know I still have to do Christmas Day and then the past 2.3 months, and I promise I will!  Just give me some time! 😉

As of now, I am going to post a little observation I made today and then we will go from there.  After reading a blog about oil pulling yesterday, I decided I wanted to give it a go.  Desi was down for a nap, and Bekkett was relaxing with the “ha-pad” {aka iPad} and I was doing dishes and decided to listen to the lesson that was taught last Sunday in RS, since I am not able to attend that class.  It was the talk from October 2013 General Conference by Jeffrey R. Holland, “Like a Broken Vessel.”  And MAN, was it AMAZING, just like it was the first time and second and third times I have heard it!  

As I was listening, there were so many thoughts running through my head.  I had thought about Tuesday morning and how when we woke up, I was paralyzed by exhaustion and overwhelmed by the tasks that I needed to attend to during this week.  Before going to work, Greg gave me a blessing and it has helped sustain me this entire week.  And since Tuesday, most of us in the house have continued feeling more sick.  Mostly Bekkett and Desi, which makes it hard for me to get my work done, since I watch over them during the days.  This would usually overwhelm me, even more because I can’t get the work that I need to done, I don’t get paid when I don’t work, but listening to this talk, and referring back to the blessing that Greg gave me, surely has sustained me.  

This part in Elder Holland’s talk stood out to me today:  “In preventing illness whenever possible, watch for the stress indicators in yourself and in others you may be able to help. As with your automobile, be alert to rising temperatures, excessive speed, or a tank low on fuel. When you face “depletion depression,” make the requisite adjustments. Fatigue is the common enemy of us all—so slow down, rest up, replenish, and refill. Physicians promise us that if we do not take time to be well, we most assuredly will take time later on to be ill.” (Italics added for emphasis.)  {IT HIT ME LIKE A TON OF BRICKS} No wonder we were all sick!  A: My family was passing some sort of sickness around all of last week.  and B: We were so sleep deprived, but we HAD to see everything{or at least try}, while we were at DisneyWorld, so we just kept going and going.  

I wouldn’t change anything we did at DisneyWorld.  BUT, I am so grateful that this talk spoke to me for future reference.  And it helped me to see that IT IS OK TO SLOW DOWN!  In fact, I know that I need to do so more often…and I plan to do so!  

I am also grateful for the down time I have had with Bekkett and Desi.  It has been just the right medicine for me{which is quite a success for me to say, because it usually just overwhelms me!}.  I am so grateful for time on the floor playing with “Little People” or cars, or Toy Story figurines, or blocks, or stuffed animals, or reading, or playing Nemo puppets.  THAT is what has filled my cup and kept me going this week.  

I am grateful for kisses on the cheek from my little man.  I am grateful for my darling Des who comes crawling from across the room in order to crawl up into my lap and wrap her arms around my neck.  I am grateful for snot smears all across my pants and shirts, and for tickle fights that make my babies deep-belly laugh.  Even though our health hasn’t been PRIME this week, I am grateful for this week!  And I am grateful for HIS timing, because without it, I don’t know if I could truly say I were GRATEFUL for all of this!  

I am GRATEFUL for lessons learned!

-M.

Leave a Reply

