Why I am a Mormon.

Standard

This post has been a long time coming, but today, as we went to Stake Conference, we were blessed to be in the presence of Elder Fred A. Parker of the Seventy.

7602734

 

This guy was JUST as cool as he looks, if not cooler!  I was so impressed with his talk…more to come on that.  But, today he challenged us to bear our testimony in some way, whether that is on social media, or face to face and I figured I would tell my friends and family WHY I AM A MORMON on my blog.

First of all, I have never seen a vision, or heard a voice tell me that The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints is true, but I have surely felt the calm and peaceful assurance as I have studied out different principles of the Gospel, and I truly know that this Church is true.  I have felt the peaceful assurance of a loving Heavenly Father, telling me that I am His and that I am of worth.

The biggest reason I know I am of worth to Him is because He gave His Son, even Jesus Christ, as a sacrifice for sin that I might be saved.  Every day I fall short of perfection, and as taught in The Book of Mormon: Another Testament of Jesus Christ, “no unclean thing can inherit the kingdom of God.”  But, I know that through the Atonement, I can improve myself, and one day enter into God’s presence again.  Without my Savior, Jesus Christ, this would not be possible, and I am forever grateful.  What an incredible gift that is to me.

I am grateful to know that the same Priesthood Authority that was here when Christ ministered on the earth has been restored again.  The fullness of Christ’s Gospel was restored completely through Joseph Smith, Jr.  I can relate to Joseph Smith and his story because I have had questions about the truthfulness of the Gospel, and I have had the opportunity to kneel and ask God if it is true.  And like I said before, I have had that peaceful reassurance come to me and help me to know of truth.

Although when I pray, I do not receive visions, I have prayed about Joseph Smith’s story and I know that he truly did see God the Father, and Jesus Christ, and They called him to restore the fullness of the Gospel.  I know that is true.

As Joseph Smith was martyred, and he sealed his testimony with his blood, the keys and the mantle of the Priesthood were passed down from prophet to prophet and are still on the earth today.  I know that Thomas S. Monson is the prophet of the world and he receives revelation from our Heavenly Father to steer us through these troubled times.

Thomas_S_Monson

 

Although my testimony is much larger than these simple words, these are the basics of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.  Each person has the ability and opportunity to ask God, for themselves, if these things are true.  The peace and joy that come to me, being a member of the Church, will push me through the hard times and will expound upon the great times!

Those of you who read my blog, I love you, or else you wouldn’t be reading my blog! 😉  May you feel peace in your heart as you read my words!  If you have questions, please don’t hesitate to ask.  Much love!

-M.

To request a free copy of the Book of Mormon, press here.

Leave a Reply

