Then.

Standard

Moving away from family and friends, from comforts and certainty has changed the relationships that are dearest to my heart.  That being said, I will post a few times in the next couple of days explaining, a little bit, the changes that this move has brought to the three most important relationships in my life.

To begin, my relationship with my handsome husband.  The lyrics of a newly found song by Brad Paisley sums up a lot of what we feel for each other, after 6 months of living away from our family.  Here you go:

“Then”

I remember trying not to stare

The night that I first met you
You had me mezmorized
And three weeks later
In the front porch light
Taking 45 minutes to kiss goodnight
I hadn’t told you yet
I thought I loved you thenNow you’re my whole life
Now you’re my whole world
I just can’t believe
The way I feel about you girl
Like a river meets the sea
Stronger than its ever been
We’ve come so far since that day
And I thought I loved you then

I remember taking you back
To right where I first met you
You were so suprised
There were people around
But I didn’t care
I got down on one knee right there
And once again
I thought I loved you then

Now you’re my whole life
Now you’re my whole world
I just can’t believe
The way I feel about you girl
Like a river meets the sea
Stronger than its ever been
We’ve come so far since that day
And I thought I loved you then

I can just see you
With a baby on the way
I can just see you
When your hair is turning grey
What I can’t see
Is how I’m ever gonna love you more
But I’ve said that before

Now you’re my whole life
Now you’re my whole world
I just can’t believe
The way I feel about you girl
We’ll look back someday
At this moment that we’re in
And I’ll look at you and say
And I thought I loved you then

And I thought I loved you then

It is amazing how much my love and respect have grown in the past 6 months.  Just the other day, Greg and I were chatting about our “love languages”.  The way that I feel loved is through quality time.  Well, when you have a husband that is gone for 8 days straight, no phone, no text, no email, no contact with them, having “quality time” with one another during that time seemed nearly impossible.  Greg had been good about writing me while he was gone, but probably the middle of July, we started writing each other at the end of every day and then after he got off of the trail on Wednesdays, we would share our “journals” of our week, with our deepest, darkest secrets. {Haha!}  But really, it was really nice to be able to hear how his week went, instead of just asking at the end of a week and us both saying, “It was good.”  Period.
Through these letters, we have been able to share “quality time” in a sense and I truly feel like I have grown closer to him because of those letters.  I shared with him my challenges of {single} parenting, my triumphs, little things that B and D do on a daily basis, or their firsts…things that if I wouldn’t have documented, I probably would have forgotten about.
I am truly grateful for this time we have been able to learn and grow and to stretch ourselves.  I can’t say it has been the easiest 6 months of my life, but because of the things I have learned about myself, the relationship that has been strengthened with my husband and beautiful children, and the relationship I have built with my Heavenly Father and Savior, I can honestly say it has been the most rewarding.  We have truly been blessed!
I LOVE Gregory John Ostler more NOW than I did THEN and I feel eternally grateful for that!  He is the best husband for me and the cutest daddy EVER!  I am glad I get him FOREVER!IMG_0269
IMG_0273
IMG_0305
IMG_0328
-M.
Leave a Reply

