Sweet dreams.

Standard

When I was in college, I was blessed with many amazing roommates and friends.  Many of you may remember Becca.  She is so wonderful and I am SO EXCITED for this weekend…we are packing up the family and driving up to DC to see her and her family.  Her sister(and another one of my dearest roommates) is coming from Pittsburgh to be with us this weekend too!  I can hardly wait.  

Becca came from DC to sing at my wedding reception and she has a beautiful voice and plays the guitar with it!  She is awesome!  When we were roommates, we would often just sit on the bed and she would play the guitar and sing as I relaxed and listened.  One of my {many} favorites that she would sing was a song by the Dixie Chicks called, “Godspeed.”  I remember one day, I just laid on her bed and cried.  It is a lullaby for a little boy and the reason I cried was because I felt like I was SO READY to be married and to have children.  I felt a distinct impression that day that I would have a boy first.  

After we found out Bekkett was a boy, I called her up and asked her what that song was she would always sing and I started learning it and memorizing it for my little man.  I have sang that song to Bekkett many times, both before he was born and MANY MANY times since, but tonight was different.  

Recently, he has wanted his little giraffe lamp {from Thailand} turned on…don’t know if he is afraid of the dark or what.  But, tonight I could see him watching me as I sang to him.  I ran my fingers through his short, blonde hair, and watched the little twinkle in his eye as I sang him his lullaby.  Tears welled in my eyes as I closed the song, “God bless mommy and matchbox cars.  God bless daddy, and thanks for the stars.  GOD HEARS AMEN, WHEREVER YOU ARE!  And I love you…”  

That boy has stolen my heart so many times, I can’t even count.  And he continues to do so multiple times a day.  I will never tire of thanking my Father for sending that boy into my life and for making me a mommy.  It is the BEST, hardest, most rewarding job I could have enlisted in.  And I am so grateful every day that I did.  

Now for finding the perfect lullaby for my Des girl.  Any perfect ones that you sing to your girls {Besides the obvious Angel Friends, I Am a Child of God, You Can Close Your Eyes, etc. which are already house favorites.}

Godspeed Lyrics
Dragon tales and the “water is wide”
Pirate’s sail and lost boys fly
Fish bite moonbeams every night
And I love you

Godspeed, little man
Sweet dreams, little man
Oh my love will fly to you each night on angels wings
Godspeed
Sweet dreams

The rocket racer’s all tuckered out
Superman’s in pajamas on the couch
Goodnight moon, will find the mouse
And I love you

Godspeed, little man
Sweet dreams, little man
Oh my love will fly to you each night on angels wings
Godspeed
Sweet dreams

God bless mommy and match box cars
God bless dad and thanks for the stars
God hears “Amen,” wherever we are
And I love you

Godspeed, little man
Sweet dreams, little man
Oh my love will fly to you each night on angels wings
Godspeed
Godspeed
Godspeed
Sweet dreams

-M.

Leave a Reply

