Baby Ostler #2 Announcement.

Standard

Image

 

This weekend we were THRILLED to announce to both of our families AND to the world that we will be welcoming baby #2 into the Ostler clan.  It has been a bit of a rough ride on this one, but we are so grateful to say that things are looking up.  

Since I know that mostly family reads this and those who aren’t REALLY family are pretty much my family, I wanted to share what has been going on.  When I was at 6 weeks, I started spotting and had called the doctor.  At about 8 weeks, they had me come in for an ultrasound to make sure all was well with the baby.  I was the only one there that day.  Heartbeat was strong and I could see little babies heartbeat and it was such a relief.  

Only 2 days later, I started bleeding very heavily and I was certain that I had miscarried.  We went in the next morning(Saturday) and there was no one that could do an ultrasound.  The nurse we talked to just told us to go home and take it easy and let my body run its course.  

Our hearts were broken.  As much as I tried to pretend that everything was ok, the emotions inside were real and sad, but I was grateful every day for Bekkett to keep me going.  I needed to be a happy mama for him and for me, at least I knew we had him.  

I continued bleeding pretty consistently for the next 3 weeks, which was heart breaking every single one of those days.  I was just ready to have it over with.  Well, just prior to finding out I was pregnant, I signed up for a 70 mile bike race that was swiftly approaching.  I was getting really uneasy about doing the race feeling the way I did and feeling like my body wasn’t up to par.  My friend whom I had signed up with recommended that I call the doctor (besides Greg and my sister and my mom and…..the list could go on).  Finally I knew it was time.  

I called on Friday morning, told them everything, told them I was supposed to do a race the next day and really needed to find out what was going on.  They got us in for an ultrasound that early afternoon and I guess I didn’t really know what to expect but I DID NOT expect to hear what I heard.  Greg and I went to the ultrasound, explained everything that had been going on and the second the ultrasound tech put the “wand” on my belly, there was baby bouncing around.  The first words were, “Baby looks GREAT!”  What?!  I am still pregnant?  How?  What is going on?  

He explained that I had a subchorionic separation, which means(from what I understand) that there is a small area of separation between my uterus and the placenta.  They don’t know what causes it in normal, non-drug doing, human beings, but after the baby makes it past 12-14 weeks, it means the baby is tolerating the separation well and that all should be good.  They will obviously continue to watch it and make sure it is healing.  They told me I could NOT do my bike race and that I needed to relax and lay low until I could get in to see my actual doctor on Monday.  After a day and a half of doing NOTHING, the bleeding had pretty much stopped.  

The doctor said I wasn’t on bed rest, but very limited activity aka I can do my chores at home.  It is kind of killing me.  B and I will make our rounds and go on short(around the block) walks, and even then I feel strained and can tell the difference.  So, I am trying to be a good girl so I can keep the baby safe and sound.  

So that is the story.  Some of you “knew we had miscarried” so I wanted to fill you in on where and how this all played out.  

We feel very blessed.  I kept telling myself, even while I thought I had miscarried, that whatever happened was the Lord’s will and that everything happened for a reason.  I feel very close to this baby and will do whatever I need to to help her/him get here safely.  

I am already feeling chubby and in the “cheeseburger” stage because I am LOVING sugar and can’t exercise, but I keep telling myself that it is my own fault and to stop eating so many candy corns.  

We pray that everything continues to go well and will keep you all updated as we go along.  Here is one of me right after we found out I was still pregnant.  

Image

8 thoughts on “Baby Ostler #2 Announcement.

    • You are so sweet Lunds! I REALLY am feeling chubby, at that awkward stage between “showing” and “you have been packin’ down those cheeseburgers” stage, so thank you for making me feel great! 🙂 Maybe I need to change it to the “candy corn” stage instead of cheeseburgers. I rarely eat cheeseburgers…candy corn on the other hand… :/

  1. Shayna

    I feel like I need to tell you I had this exact same thing happen to me! Not with my last pregnancy but the one before that, with my Avery. It was brutal! And I feel your pain it was an emotional roller coaster! I had to go in 3 seperate times after my 8 week visit because I thought I had miscarried. I had problems until my 20 week ultrasound and then everything just stopped went away and was totally normal so hang in there! Let me know of you want to chat about anything anytime! Love ya girl! And congrats!

    • It seriously IS an emotional roller coaster! I think that now we know why, and the bleeding has pretty much stopped, it has been a lot better. It is nice to know that I am not the only one going through/have gone through it. It is ALSO nice to know that it can turn out great for us! It keeps my hopes up! Thanks for sharing and I will definitely let you know if i have questions. Love you friend! We will chat soon!

  2. Kaydee

    Oh Kenzie! I love you, sorry I have been out of the loop. Prayers to you and your sweet family, hope all goes well with this little babe. I knowexactly how stressful it can be, call if you need to. Love you ! Thanks so much for coming to my home and brightening my day last night! You guys are the best!

    • KayDee. It was a pleasure to see you! I really do need to come by and see you…REALLY SOON! I know that life has been hectic the last few months, so I didn’t expect that you had checked my blog. But, thank you for the kind words. We have a doctor appointment tomorrow again and things are looking up! Love you dearly! I hope you know that!

Leave a Reply

